1961 SG Standard build

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Silvertone, May 19, 2020 at 12:37 PM.

1. Silvertone

Silvertone Well-Known Member

Good afternoon. I have been building a few SGs lately and have always been interesting in vintage Gibsons. So I thought I would build myself a replica of the first SG, which was actually named the Les Paul.

I'll be asking for help with any info that the knowledgeable people on this forum would like to share. I've measured a few early 60's SGs and will start compiling drawings, sketches, and 3d models to aid in my pursuit.

I want to thank you in advance for any and all help given. Thanks.

Regards Peter.

Last edited: May 20, 2020 at 7:53 AM
    SG John likes this.
  2. Silvertone

My background is construction documents for Architects and Engineers, so I like to draw CAD drawings of all my builds. I started doing drawings of SGs a few years ago. One of the first starting points was a model posted on the MLP forum by user GooCart. Magnus, I believe, is an industrial designer and friends with the twin brothers who have a Guitar museum in Sweden. He created a model and shared it in the forum of a 1963 SG JR.
    1576936580996.png

I pulled apart this model and imported into my CAM program.
    CNC_preview_front.jpg

Then I used the outline and carves and filled in all the other holes and will use it as a starting point for my CAM model. That way I can keep this as the master body for different types of builds. SG JR, Standard, Custom etc and even different years that may have slightly different dimensions.
    Fusion01.JPG

Fusion 360 is what I use for CAM and design and it also does drawings -
    drawing04.jpg

Cheers Peter.

Last edited: May 19, 2020 at 11:02 PM
    SG John and Satellitedog like this.
  3. Silvertone