490 set VS '57 Classic/Classic+ in SG

Discussion in 'Gibson SG' started by caldera, Nov 30, 2018.

1. caldera

caldera New Member

Hey all, joined your ranks yesterday with a new 2019 SG. Can't put it down!

I'm new to an SG. I like the 490R and 490T so far and will give them a long test drive. However, I know that I have liked '57 Classics a lot whenever I have owned them before in any other guitar - but I've never played them in an SG.

How would you compare the 490s to the '57 Classic/Classic Plus set on the SG platform?

Main thing that's important to me is that I want pickups that clean up exceptionally well, either through dialing back the volume or just amp settings. I love the rock and blues tones you can get out of either, but I want the best I can get of those exceptional bell like middle position tones, and anytime you need that crystal clear clean thing I want pickups that excel at that.

Thanks for any opinions you could provide.

Peace love rock :h5:

vintagechime likes this.
  2. Robus

Robus Active Member

I think you want a PAF style low output humbucker then. I couldn't hang with the 490s and went with Seth Lovers instead.

3. papagayo

papagayo Active Member

Change the 490T with a 498T.

The 490R / 498T is my favorite combo.

4. caldera

caldera New Member

Do I really want something hotter in the bridge for my purposes? They seem to have plenty of output already.

5. cerebral gasket

cerebral gasket Well-Known Member

Try adjusting the pickup height.

IMO the 490T/490R is a great medium output combo and I keep the stock set in my SG Special. In the past I had an SG '61 RI with 57's and remember they sounded very brittle to my ears.

My favorite SG are the ones with P-90's.

Last edited: Dec 1, 2018
  6. VetPsychWars

VetPsychWars Well-Known Member

The DiMarzio 36th Anniversary PAFs are good for what you want. But the 490s are good too.

Tom

Westernrider likes this.
  7. papagayo

papagayo Active Member