Blues Cube Hot 30w vs Blues junior iv

Discussion in 'Amps & Cabs' started by Robert Morris, Mar 12, 2019.

1. Robert Morris

Robert Morris Member

I think I have it down to these 2 amps. It will be used for garage jams and the occasional open mic. I want great tube tones and was really ready to get the BJ iv tweed ($675), but then I saw the Blues Cube 30w ($499) and was impressed with a utube comparison between the two but it was a BJ III. I am going to play both before I buy but just wanted some input from more experienced players. I’m not a beginner, just don’t gig anymore. Classic and hard rock and blues mostly. Thanks

2. Clifdawg

Clifdawg Well-Known Member

Roland has just released the Nextone Stage for the same price as the Blues Cube 30, you might check that out. Largely uses the same tech, just far more versatile. That said, I'm not really a fan of either. I'm a huge fan of solid state and don't think it's any worse than tube amplification, but there's clearly something missing from the top end of Roland's SS offerings. The Katana series has the same problem, but is roughly half the price, and sounds equally good to me.

I haven't tried the new Blues Jr. IV, but I've always kinda felt like the Blues Jr. was "just an amp," so to speak... Not much exciting about it. Good cleans, but overdrive is meh. Personally, I find the 10" Pro Jr. amp to be far more interesting, with a tighter, punchier sound. Also, don't forget the Bassbreaker 15 - yes, it does heavy Marshall grind, but it also does clean and bluesy OD very, very well thanks to it's multiple gain stages accessible by the "structure" knob.

All that said, if you really like the sound of the Blues Cube or Blues Jr., you really can't go wrong... Both are solid amps from reputable manufacturers.

3. Kerry Brown

Kerry Brown Well-Known Member