Can't watch youtube!!!!

Discussion in 'Front Desk' started by Alex_SG, Apr 23, 2012.

  1. Alex_SG

    Alex_SG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    2,743
    Likes Received:
    1,972
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Hey all,

    This isn't related to the forum, per se, but does anyone have any idea why I can't view youtube etc?

    I'm running windows 7, and I keep getting a page telling me to upgrade flash. Everytime I do this, I restart windows, but then get the same damn page again?:dunno:

    Youtube etc on my computer is just a big box with a small "x" in the top left hand corner.

    Does anyone have any idea on how to fix this, as obviously the upgrade thing is not working...

    Cheers

    Alex
     
  2. sgtbeefheart

    sgtbeefheart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    4,104
    Likes Received:
    1,137
    Location:
    UK
    I remember this happening a lot to me a while ago.

    How are you upgrading?

    I think you have to download Flash, and install it,
    rather than from the link in the message.
     
    Alex_SG likes this.
  3. JohnnyGoo

    JohnnyGoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    7,930
    Likes Received:
    3,939
    Location:
    NW Oregon
    I can watch you tube when i go to you tube.but if some one posts a you tube link on here it dont go.im on a Galaxy S4. Maybe i need to install adobe flash player
     
  4. iblive

    iblive Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    943
    Location:
    North East Illinois
    Sometimes I have issues with certain programs and add ons when Firefox updates itself, but so far no issues with You Tube.
     
  5. sgtbeefheart

    sgtbeefheart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    4,104
    Likes Received:
    1,137
    Location:
    UK
    I don't know about other browsers, but in Firefox options,
    you can "request the desktop version".

    It might mean you can use the desktop links that are posted here.
     
    Alex_SG likes this.
  6. LeadFinger

    LeadFinger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,778
    Likes Received:
    2,292
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    If you're using Firefox, that could be the problem right there. Try updating using another browser, then be sure to reboot.

    Also, enable html5, and tell flash to kiss your ash:

    YouTube
     
    Alex_SG likes this.
  7. chilipeppermaniac

    chilipeppermaniac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    6,178
    Likes Received:
    3,319
    Location:
    Maryland
    LOL Lead
     
    LeadFinger likes this.
  8. frankd

    frankd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    2,048
    Hey Alex I had the same thing keep happening even after
    I installed the flash. So I had my buddy the tech wiz intall again it kept doing it still so I just went around it Red neck way LOL.
    But know when I try post vids on here only the links come up
    I just installed 8.1 the other night. Maybe I need to this html
    lead speaks of but I prob f that up too. lets see if I can get
    a vid up after the 8.1 install?
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YdwVVI4B3oY#t=80
    see what I mean Maybe lead has the answer
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YdwVVI4B3oY
     
    Alex_SG likes this.
  9. Alex_SG

    Alex_SG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    2,743
    Likes Received:
    1,972
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Fixed! Thanks guys!
     

Share This Page