compensated bridge setup tips?

Discussion in 'Tone Zone' started by jammybastard, Dec 31, 2004.

1. jammybastard

jammybastard New Member

Hey folks,
    just got a '69 Special w/ compensated tail a'la PT.
    I'm having a heck of a time dialing in the intonation on the tail.
    No surprise right?
    Any suggestions?
    Also, should I intonate first, or do the action & releif first?
    I'm new to the setup game, and whatbetter guitar to learn on eh?
    Thanks.

2. CharlieB

CharlieB Active Member

The thing to remember on the wrap around bridge/tail is that EITHER sides adjustment is going to effect BOTH sides intonation.

HUH?

Lets say you want to move the high E string up by... say... 1/8 inch. So you loosen the set screw a bit. The high E side has moved... but the low E side has moved a bit too.. just not as much.

What I like to do generally in setups is this:

Tune to pitch, set relief.
    Set elevation and play it a bit even if the intonation is off... just make sure the elevation is good to go.
    Then set intonation last.

Keep in mind that moving the intonation also has this real small micro effect on elevation. Usually its not noticed as its really small, but moving a saddle back say... its whole length may end up with a saddle thats now too low in relation to the neck. Back=lower, forward=higher. When in doubt, its probablt best to stagger saddles to begin with about 1/8 inch from each other. E further back, then A then D, then G back at A's spot... then B and E. I realize that you dont have that option... just in general I'm tossing that out.

3. jammybastard

jammybastard New Member

Hey!
    Thanks for the prompt reply.
    I've been working on the intonation for the past hour with no luck.
    Action is fine, relief is fine, but it's still coming up sharp no matter how far back the bridge goes.
    Very weird.
    We're talking +.05 sharp, as opposed to +.13 sharp when the tail is in the normalled position.