Competition for My SGs Is Getting Tight

Discussion in 'Other Guitars' started by poppunk, Jul 17, 2019.

1. poppunk

poppunk Member

I'm starting to fear for my SGs.

I have two SGs (a 2001 Special and a 2011 Standard, both in uncommon finishes). I've been playing the 2001 since I got it new in 2002 and got my hands on the 2011 Standard last year (after two years of looking for a Pelham Blue one with full face guard and a round, thicker neck profile).

My 2001 Special has a lot of miles on it, it was my only serious guitar for a very long time. I play the Standard a lot for practice/shows, it's just awesome. The Standard is magical and looks cool.

But I also have a Yamaha Revstar RS820CR that gets played a lot. In one of my bands I have to bounce between two guitars for standard/half-step down tunings. I use the Revstar for one and the SG Standard for the other.

Sometimes in my other band I'll play my Jaguar or my Revstar, but I mostly play one of my SGs.

Last week I was in Chicago, went to Chicago Music Exchange, and played a bunch of guitars for fun. I picked up an EBMM Stingray, and it was magic. Straight up magic. I avoided buying it (because, expensive), then I get home and someone has a used one listed on Craigslist for 1/3rd the price of a new one (if I believed in fate, this would be fate). I checked it out, it was amazing, and bought it. I'm still floored by this model.

It's gonna get played, a lot. And probably at the expense of my SGs to some extent. What is happening to me?

I still haven't figured out how to play the Les Paul I got off some sweet deal properly, though. I think I just like doublecuts/offsets.

<RAMBLING COMPLETE>

Chubbles likes this.
  2. GrumpyOldDBA

GrumpyOldDBA Well-Known Member

Whatever you do stay away from the PRS guitars.

Bad things happen to Gibson guitars playing times when the first PRS comes in the door. Then the second one yikes ...

Great Rambling though!!!