Did the shop wreck my guitar?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by mharker, May 31, 2012.

1. mharker

mharker Member

Hello everyone. Got some questions for the experts:

A few weeks ago I took my 1986 Yamaha 12-string to my favorite guitar store for some work. The main issue is that the action was super high, especially in the higher frets. You could almost put your fingers under the strings in some places.

It's just a bottom-end laminate top guitar, but I bought it brand-new when I was 16 and still like it. I figured spend a few bucks on some reconditioning and maybe it'll last another generation!

The shop is very reputable. I bought my Martin there and had them do some maintenance on my SG a couple years back. It's the kind of place where full-time pros work on the guitars - not just weekend kids.

Anyway, so after a couple weeks I call back to ask what's up. I wish I had written down notes after talking to them but unfortunately I didn't - and also I'm not that technical. But basically, they tell me:

1. They don't want to do any work on it because it's too far gone and they are afraid if they adjust the neck and action, the body will "cave in". And that in fact it has already started to cave in.

2. I think they said they adjusted the rod in the neck (which has never been touched since 1996) and that was part of how they came to the conclusion.

So I go back in to pick it up and immediately wanted to see the caving in phenomenon, because I had never noticed it before. There is a slight indent forming on the top of the body (hard to show in photos) which I had never noticed before. But could have missed because it's been in the case for months. I was rushed getting out of there so just thanked them for their opinions (and for not charging me).

Later I looked at it more closely and now I can totally see the caving in, even though it's pretty slight. Also at a really low angle you can see the soundhole is distorting a little.