Gibson SG Xtra Slim, anyone got one? Educate me!

Discussion in 'Gibson SG' started by sazista, May 9, 2016.

1. sazista

sazista Active Member

Last edited: May 9, 2016
  2. gball

gball Well-Known Member

I have no experience with them but it looks damn nice if you are looking for a thin neck, and I am digging the dot inlays. I personally have trouble with thinner necks and gravitate towards '50's profiles but I would definitely check that one out if thin was my thing.

3. gball

gball Well-Known Member

Edit: double post

4. donepearce

donepearce Well-Known Member

London, helping a friend design a knitting machine
    I'd check it carefully before buying. SG necks are long and unsupported, and I'm not convinced that making them even thinner is a great idea. For me they are already approaching an acceptable limit of whippiness.

jtcnj likes this.
  5. sazista

sazista Active Member

Got it. I've heard such comments before. My only experience has been on my Epi 310, which has no problems whatsoever, and my Gibson Special (which I don't like at all). I'll check it out live. There is one listed here in Santiago, Chile for relatively less than most Gibsons. ALL guitars are expensive here, so it is nice to find something not so costly!

6. Biddlin

Biddlin Well-Known Member

I played one recently and it was very nice. Just don't use the neck as tremolo or leave it sitting against the wall and you should be OK. I like the thin neck, but would like it more if made of maple...........

eS.G. and donepearce like this.
  7. donepearce

Maple is definitely the answer here. Mahogany is just barely up to the job.

cerebral gasket likes this.
  8. donepearce

I've just been looking up the properties of various woods, and I reckon hickory would be ideal. About the same weight as maple, but quite a lot stiffer.

9. gball

gball Well-Known Member

Cool idea. Would love to try one made of hickory.

10. eS.G.

eS.G. Well-Known Member