Heavier gauge strings and the reason for tuning down 1/2 step

Discussion in 'Epiphone SG' started by living room rocker, May 14, 2018.

1. living room rocker

living room rocker Member

Most of you guys use 10's on your SG? Are there significant tonal differences to heavier strings on an SG and dropping down from standard tuning? I'm fairly new to guitar playing. Why do guitarists tune down 1/2 step anyway; assuming tuning down means all 6 strings are dropped 1/2 step? Why not keep standard tuning and just drop your starting point 1 fret; same thing isn't it? Does tuning down 1/2 step make bending notes that much easier? I've read about matching the vocal range reasoning, but again keeping standard tuning and dropping your starting point to a lower key achieves the same thing doesn't it?

Layne Matz likes this.
  2. plankton

plankton Well-Known Member

I use 10's on everything. I have my SG in standard tuning, but keep my Strat tuned a half step down. It does make bends easier on the longer scale guitar.

Eb tuning also makes playing Hendrix, SRV, EVH and some Slash stuff easier as it's what they used mostly.

living room rocker likes this.
  3. Daniel.S

Daniel.S Well-Known Member

Depends on what you want to play. I play a lot of Scars on Broadway and System of a Down stuff, so my SG is tuned to Drop D# with Ernie Ball Skinny top Heavy bottom (52-10) strings.
    For the drop C stuff I use the DR Tite-fit Jeff Healey (56-10) set on my Iceman and ESP Alexi guitars.

4. living room rocker

Thanks for replying. Interesting about easier bending on a longer scale length. I've no experience on anything other than the Gibson/Epi length.

5. Bonzo21

Bonzo21 Active Member