How about the Samick Torino

Discussion in 'SG Copies' started by 1Way, Jan 2, 2005.

1. 1Way

1Way Active Member

2. 1Way

1Way Active Member

Here's the TR2

[​IMG]

3. CharlieB

CharlieB Active Member

Oh now... its a Les-G!!!

4. hambucker

hambucker Member

EHHH, no thanks I'll stick with my Gibby. I run form the word Samick.

5. alazary

alazary Member

I never really like playing guitar copies...just doesn't feel right,

6. skidshark

skidshark Active Member

interesting styling nuances....don't really like it tho,...if your gonna copy it, copy it!

the second one is trying so hard to be a LP it's pathetic!!

7. 1Way

1Way Active Member

CharlieB,
    Ya, but you know what? That gorgeous curly maple top ,,,,,,,,,, is a photo! They call it a "High Tech" top. It's a picture of a AAAAA top! It's not real! What a screwed up deal that is!

All,
    I agree with you guys, and I'm still learning. There has to be a good reason why the long lasting original guitars do so well, ,,, most likely because they really are that good. I'd rather have something that is worth what you paid for it, and I'd rather have something that is really worth listening to, something sweet and cooking with fire.

But money is an issue. I'm pretty poor and am looking to get into the best guitar bang-for-the-buck I can get. At the same time, because this next guitar may be that one single lifelong main guitar, I require that it be the best guitar that I can (reasonably) afford.

The Gibson SG Standard is my choice so far, most likely a recent but used model, but I want to see if there is anything comparable from a different guitar maker at a more economical price point. I need to stretch that dollar as much as possible without being disappointed in the quality of the guitar.

8. skidshark

skidshark Active Member

i think you'll be stretching a bit much if you get a copy....

ibanez is pretty bad about doing those fake wood tops too, prolly standard in the low buck industry now....