How much would you pay for a modified Deluxe?

Discussion in 'Vintage SG' started by Jr159753, Feb 26, 2020.

1. Jr159753

Jr159753 New Member

Hi group,

I'm new in the SG world, I would like to buy an affordable vintage.

By now I'm looking a modified deluxe from 74, the one with the Gibson bixby and the big black control pickguard/plate.

the pickups have been changed, and price is around 1700, the guy won't go under 1600 (price in euro).

It looks fair to me considering the price you would find that one on reverb ( not modified, $ 2k to 4k..)

Would you buy that one from the Norlin era or leave it?

Thanks!

2. Misanthrope

Misanthrope Member

Howdy and welcome from Wyoming.
    I will turn you over to the folks here that are more knowledgeable about SGs than I. Sounds like a pretty cool guitar though.

Again, Welcome

Jr159753 likes this.
  3. Jr159753

Jr159753 New Member

thanks!

I have a couple of pics, frets look pretty low

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Nemesis0710 and AngelDeVille like this.
  4. DrBGood

DrBGood Well-Known Member

AH !
    They hadn't invented horn bevels yet !

Jr159753 and Norton like this.
  5. sazista

sazista Active Member

I guess it's all relative to what's important to you. It looks like it's in very good shape and probably worth it being so old. If it really moves you, leave 1,500 on the table and see what happens. If he doesn't go for it, just find something else equally nice, and hopefully newer.

Jr159753 likes this.
  6. Chuteboxehero

Chuteboxehero Well-Known Member