Introducing myself, Caribbean luthier

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Jonathan Krogh, Nov 8, 2012.

1. Jonathan Krogh

Jonathan Krogh New Member

Good day gents, I stumbled onto this forum tonight while tripping through the web for a few bevel photos and the never ending debate about what an SG body thickness should be.
    Anyways, I've been building and repairing guitars and tube amps for about 12 years, the first few bodies I built were of course SG's and I am currently building a pair again.
    I am enjoying the threads about the projects being built and would like to put up a few shots of the last pair I built a few years ago, I suppose I could do an ongoing build thread as well in a few days.
    I also build a line of handbuilt amps, and recently built some basses as well, but for now I would like to wallow in SG with you guys for a bit.

Attached Files:

koaguilds likes this.
  2. Jonathan Krogh

Here are a few more, this second ones bookmatched top is a guyanese wood called 'hububalli' which I sometimes suspect is the same thing i've seen named hedua, or shedua.

The main wood I use for body cores is local west indian mahogany. Where I live is on the coast of venezuela and we have that tropical rainforest, but quite frankly the mahogany is the only local wood I've found useful for luthiery. Over the years I've been using more and more maple in the necks for added sustain and harmonics, and for fretboards I import the usual rosewoods and ebonies from LMI and Stewmac. I am also a big fan of graphite rods, deep neck joints and neck volutes, my early paranoia of buying guitars and shipping them long distances to the tropics makes me tend to overbuild necks to reduce humidity movements and rough transport handling and so on.
    Hope you guys like my SG's
    Thanks
    J.K.

Attached Files:

koaguilds likes this.
  3. Mr. Happy

Mr. Happy Well-Known Member

I really love the second one!!

4. Alex_SG

Alex_SG Well-Known Member