Jack and switch positions

Discussion in 'Gibson SG' started by Madras, Feb 10, 2017.

1. Madras

Madras New Member

My Epiphone ET-276 is a great guitar. I have been playing it for about 15 years and it's a wonderful thing. I have no idea what pickups are in it, but they seem like they might be single coils disguised as humbuckers. They sound crisp and authoritative, and very responsive. I am inclined to move those pickups into my 2016 SG Standard, but what's really on my mind is moving the pickup selector switch to a more accessible position, one that's akin to the Epiphone's. And the jack, which, on the SG, butts up against the knobs. Has anyone done this? And why are these important features placed where they are, instead of in the numerous other possible positions? I don't see any reason why I should have to navigate past the cable when dialing the tone knobs on the fly. Seems like an unnecessary burden. Obviously, the controls are bundled close in order to minimize the routing of the body, but there's a price to be paid in accessibility.

Attached Files:

bwotw likes this.
  2. SG standard

SG standard Well-Known Member

Have you tried using a right angled jack on the SG? That might solve your issue with the cable, and it's good for 'safety' too, as the SG's body is a bit vulnerable to damage if a regular jack gets a hard knock - there's not a lot of wood before the body edge, and it can get cracked. But I must admit I've never had an issue with the cable getting in the way. I had one SG with the input on the body side, and to me that's the ideal location, but the regular SG body is a bit thin for that.