Maybe a dumb question but I need to ask

Discussion in 'Gibson SG' started by Antvesh, Apr 30, 2020.

Tags:
  1. Antvesh

Antvesh New Member

Hello,

First let me apologize for the potentially long message. I hope you are all safe and well during this worldwide pandemic. I'm new here but have been an sg lover my entire life. When I started playing in 7th grade I tried to learn the entirety of the AC/DC catalogue (stereotypical, I know) because Angus is my guitar playing hero. His vibrato technique is the best for me. However, this is slightly not relevant to my actual question.

It's come time to buy my first Gibson SG. I have not bought one in my 29 years alive for a variety of reasons, but now seems to finally be the right moment.

Looking through the current 2020 Gibson catalogue with my eyes originally on a full-fat sg, I came across the USA SG Jr. One dog ear p-90 (my favorite pickup type), one volume, one tone, and that's it. Stripped down to only what's necessary and nothing more. I fell in love with it immediately and i knew that the SG Jr will be the model I purchase. Now to my question. When comparing heritage cherry colors I find that they are all over the place. The current SG Jr looks like this: Screenshot_20200430-222824_Chrome.jpg
    A pretty bright red.

However, my favorite by far would be this: DSC_5238__62676.1582743215(1).jpg
    A dark, almost brownish wine red.

Finally, to my question. Is there a way that I can make the SG Jr that I will be purchasing new display the dark almost brownish hue of the second picture? Shot in the dark here, but I wanted to at least give it a shot.

Thank you for reading all of this if you've made it this far. Any replies are appreciated.

2. everdying

everdying Well-Known Member

3. ezypikins

ezypikins Member

4. pancake81

pancake81 Well-Known Member