Neck and back pain since I got the Epi G-400 Pro

Discussion in 'Epiphone SG' started by chrisoldroyd, Dec 1, 2018.

1. chrisoldroyd

chrisoldroyd New Member

i have been playing a Les Paul type guitar for the first 6 months of my guitar journey but I bought an Epi G400 3 months ago and since then I have been having neck pain and back pain. I switched back to the les Paul and its much easier to play.

Anyone know why? All I can think is that the position the SG sits on my leg it is a much longer reach to the first fret than on the Les Paul or a strat , it’s about 3 inches shorter. Anyone got any tips on how to overcome the pain or should I just dump it and get something that works for me?

Cheers
    Chris

2. Worblehat

Worblehat Active Member

Hard to tell from a far what causes your problems. I am also a beginner (1.5 years in now) and experienced back and shoulder pain when I got my Epiphone SG, so I'll just write about my experience and hope it helps.
    First I need to mention that I always play while standing, never sitting. I find playing guitars sitting down extremely uncomfortable and it causes pain in my right shoulder. In sitting position I find the SG even more uncomfortable than my Strat-style guitar. Many people say the SG is great for the sitting position...I have no idea why.
    Anyway...when I got my Epiphone SG I experienced a lot of (left) shoulder and lower back pain in the beginning. Now about 8 month later I think of it as the most ergonomic and comfortable guitar. Here is what I did:
    1. Be aware of and observe your body posture while playing. How is your posture different from when playing your other guitar? Try to feel which muscles are unnecessarily strained.
    2. I quickly realized that my pain comes from the neck heavy-ness of the SG. The strap painfully pulled on my shoulder and I tried to counteract the neck dive by weirdly twisting and straining my back.