Need help buying my first SG

Discussion in 'Epiphone SG' started by Emile937, May 7, 2018.

1. Emile937

Emile937 New Member

So the SG has proven to be an appealing guitar to me and since I am no rich kid, I'll be getting either a SG special VE, or a G-400 pro, I've been playing guitar on acoustic for 8 months, I am not a superb guitarist and need some improvements in the chord department, but I am doing well for now, I thought about getting the special since as a beginner and I don't think I have the expertise to use a G-400 pro, if I get the VE, I'll get it in June, however, if I choose to get the G-400 pro, I'll probably have to wait until September or perhaps a bit sooner, and my first amp will be a laney 10 watt tube amp, so should I wait for the G-400 or get the special VE?

Duane_the_tub likes this.
  2. Duane_the_tub

Duane_the_tub Member

I don't have any experience with those particular models, but a good rule of thumb is to buy gear you won't outgrow quickly, and that will have resale value if and when you decide to either upgrade or cut bait.

Why a tube amp?

3. Bad Penguin

Bad Penguin Active Member

Wait, and get the better guitar. Your skill level will improve on either, but you'll outgrow the special quicker.

dub-setter and plankton like this.
  4. Col Mustard

Col Mustard Well-Known Member

Welcome to ETSG, and good luck in your quest!

My first suggestion is to get the best used guitar you can afford.
    You pay a lot more for a new guitar, and that value disappears as soon as
    you open the box.
    If you buy a decent used guitar, its value won't change much, and you can sell
    it for similar money. Buying used, you can get a lot more guitar for the money
    you spend. Clean it well, and then play it loud.

My second suggestion is to save enough money to get your new (used) guitar
    professionally set up. Getting a professional setup job done can cost like $80,