Need Some Information as I am New in Playing Guitar

Discussion in 'Other Guitars' started by HelenBooker, Nov 16, 2014.

1. HelenBooker

HelenBooker New Member

My teenage cousin is planning to learn guitar, and I am still thinking to buy her a Fretlight guitar (http://tinyurl.com/o5lfhcs) but I've heard that Rocksmith method (http://tinyurl.com/ntbln4b) is better than the former. Has anybody some experiences with any of them?

2. donepearce

donepearce Well-Known Member

London, helping a friend design a knitting machine
    Never tried it, but it may be OK. The thing is that people seem to pick up the guitar pretty quickly without these aids, and after a few weeks they will be unnecessary and probably unused.

You can get a seriously nice normal guitar for $399 - I think I would be spending those dollars on intrinsic quality rather than some technology that will have limited use.

flyswatter, eS.G., SG John and 3 others like this.
  3. Alex_SG

Alex_SG Well-Known Member

Absolutely agree with Don. Also, lessons from a reputable teacher would be money well spent .
    After a few lessons, she should have a good basic grounding that she can build on by experimentation...
    Good luck!

Westernrider, jeremy, eS.G. and 2 others like this.
  4. dampsneaker

dampsneaker Well-Known Member

Another in total agreement with Don. Check the real guitars on this page for $399 (or less), especially the Epiphone and Fender Squier lines. Those are actually good quality instruments that will be hard to resist playing and keep her happy for years after the initial learning curve is past. Nothing like an instrument that says "pick me up and play me". You can check back in here for opinions on specific models. Oh, and you are one terrific older cousin too. :thumb:

eS.G. likes this.
  5. eS.G.

eS.G. Well-Known Member

I can ad no more, all good advice above. LEt us know what you decide!
    Hopefully an SG maybe in your nieces future????
    And WELCOME to another Buckeye! :)