New recording gear day

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by Heket, Jul 6, 2013.

  1. sgtbeefheart

    sgtbeefheart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    4,104
    Likes Received:
    1,137
    Location:
    UK
    Turning off Audio hardware Acceleration has fixed audio problems for me in the past.

    Here's how to do it in Win 7,

    1: Right-click the speaker icon in your Windows system tray and select "Playback Devices."
    This menu option opens sound cards and speakers on your computer.

    2: Click the sound card you want to set up. At the bottom of the sound card list, click the "Properties" button to open the main sound card information.

    3: Remove the check mark next to "Acceleration" to disable the feature. Click "OK" to save the settings. Reboot the computer for the settings to take effect.

    Of course it's reversible.

    Before you try that, check your PC mixer for any sources that you can mute,
    as these can sometimes make a noise, especially if they're turned up high.

    As you're using USB, that'll be Line In 1, Line In 2, Mic etc.
     
    Biddlin likes this.
  2. Heket

    Heket Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,929
    Likes Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    I'm having a hard time finding this. I did a rough Google search on it and it's dependent on what sound card you have. With the Scarlett it doesn't give the "enhancements" tab, which is where the option to turn it on/off is supposed to be.

    No matter. It's not a big problem at the moment, the whirring of my PC and general house noise is distracting enough for me not to notice it. Thanks for the tip though, I'll keep an eye out on how to change it :)

    Don - yes they do have a volume knob and use balanced cables.
     
  3. sgtbeefheart

    sgtbeefheart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    4,104
    Likes Received:
    1,137
    Location:
    UK
    I should have done a search on your Scarlett, then I'd have known
    that it doesn't use an internal PC soundcard.

    I thought it was just an interface, rather than a self-contained audio
    system.

    If there is another sound card in your PC, it may be a good idea to disable it.
     
  4. dbb

    dbb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    9,958
    Likes Received:
    3,774
    Location:
    California
    All this soundcard talk makes me happy I'm on Mac. No more of that PC stuff!
     
    thatbastarddon likes this.
  5. sgtbeefheart

    sgtbeefheart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    4,104
    Likes Received:
    1,137
    Location:
    UK
    My PC doesn't need a sound card either, but I wanted one.

    I sent off some guitar tracks to a studio, that I did on my now
    ancient Audigy 2 Platinum Ex, and there going straight onto an
    album, so I'm pretty chuffed.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice