Newbie here - '69 SG hardware question

Discussion in 'Vintage SG' started by Hola Vibrola, Jan 20, 2020.

1. Hola Vibrola

Hola Vibrola Member

hey all, greetings from Maine, I just found you from the sister Tele site. My long-time auto mechanic recently told me he has an old electric guitar that his dad traded for a snowmobile long ago, and asked would I get it up and running for him to plunk on, and he thought it was a Gibson. I'm like hell ya get it out and thinking it's gotta be a LP or SG, and sure enough it's an SG Special, the serial number indicating either a '66 or '69. I've since read a lot of info online and in books as to further distinguish the year but there's sure a lot of conflicting info out there. In any event I've attached a few pics and what I'd really like to find out is which screws for the gear wheels on the back of the headstock are the correct/original ones. (I've had some people tell me that the particular metal plates and the metal tuning knobs aren't original, but I saw a lot of other '69s online that are the same.) So in the headstock pic, there are two screws in the upper left that are darker color and phillips head; and two in the upper right that are not phillips head and would seem to me more appropriate, but I've seen the darker ones in other later 60's pictures online. (The bottom left screw is new and not an original.) Any info that anyone can provide as to which screws are correct is greatly appr IMG_1960.JPG eciated, as I'd like to complete the full 6 screws; the guitar is otherwise all original. Thanks!

IMG_1964.JPG

papagayo, 19sixty3, jonnyfez and 2 others like this.
  2. cerebral gasket

cerebral gasket Well-Known Member

3. Hola Vibrola

Hola Vibrola Member

Thank you cerebral gasket, that reference is just what I needed. So the philips heads match my upper left two, and this gives me a bit more confidence of originality; with the metal vs. plastic tuners as well. Now I just need to find 4 more and call it good!