Newbie here - Advice needed on value of 1971 SG

Discussion in 'Vintage SG' started by DBluesMi, Feb 10, 2018.

1. DBluesMi

DBluesMi New Member

Hello,

This is my first post as a new member here. Have been looking at SG’s for a while. Came across an excellent (close to mint) 1971 SG Deluxe with case (Bigsby, logo pups, all original, no dents dings, cracks, etc)... looks like it has been stored in the case/closet for many years.

I am new to vintage SG’s but wondered what these would sell for in this condition with original case? Sort of a medium brown color (not dark dark walnut and not cherry). Serial number checks out to Kalamazoo 1970, 71, 72 (owner says 71)...not asking for real or not, I know it is but more asking for what these would typically sell for - (I know they are not the Holy Grail of SG’s but still revered by many). Just want to make sure I am getting a decent deal and not paying what some collector might pay (can’t afford that).

Thanks for any advice

2. syscokid

syscokid Well-Known Member

Welcome to ETSG... :cheers:

Researching thru Reverb.com's price history shows a fair price of $2000 to $2200 for these guitars that are in excellent condition. $2800 being an extreme.

DBluesMi likes this.
  3. DBluesMi

DBluesMi New Member

Thanks,
    I have seen various ones on eBay but they all are different (headstock repairs, etc)...

4. SG standard

SG standard Well-Known Member

If you're new to vintage SGs I'd be a little bit careful about anything that's advertised as 'all original' - you really need to know what you're looking at to be sure that's true, and also be aware that it's a likely sign you're being asked to pay top prices. Also, anything you can spot that's not original becomes a bargaining point.