NGD: 2015 Gibson SGS3 w/Sideways Vibrola

Discussion in 'Gibson SG' started by hi13ts, Sep 18, 2019.

1. hi13ts

hi13ts New Member

Hi friends, I haven't been here in a hot minute, but just bought a new SG and would like share some observations.

I had a 2013 SG Original that was, for all intents and purposes, and great guitar. It wasn't particularly special, but it sounded like an SG and held tune. I've been playing Les Pauls as my main guitars for the past 10 years or so, and even after a detour to SGs and ES's about three years ago, I've kinda fallen back home to the Les Pauls. The 2013 Original was more or less a backup guitar and only saw stage lights every six months or so. The reason being is because it directly competed with my Les Pauls, being a solid body electric with two humbuckers. For my personal tastes, I always preferred the Les Pauls. That was the impetus in me trying to find a guitar that has its unique stamp, that could be used alongside the LPs instead just being a backup guitar. I looked around and saw an SGS3 at Dave's Guitar on Reverb. I remember these back in 2015 and how classy they looked. In essence, it's born out of the idea of an SG Custom, except of course different fretboard material and less decor, also made on the line as opposed to the custom shop. Really pretty guitar, so I sold the Original and pulled the trigger on the one at Dave's.

First impressions: lightest guitar I've ever owned, more so than my Strat. The 60's slim taper neck is also one of the thinner examples I've played. The bevels and overall body of the guitar is exquisite and eye-catching. Such class.