Old Dog, new trick

Discussion in 'Welcome Wagon' started by OldDog, Apr 27, 2019.

1. OldDog

OldDog Member

I want my first post here to be my introduction. We all have our unique stories. My story is no exception so here it is: My name here is OldDog because that’s what I am. I had and have many retirement goals and one was to learn to read music and to play guitar…or banjo but banjo seemed like maybe a better follow-on rather than primary. So, most of my retirement goals are in good shape and so I moved on to the guitar thing. I am a beginner in just about every respect. My current talent level is probably good enough for any middle school, maybe some high school and a long way from garage band. My wife thinks I’m pretty good at this, but what does she know.

I am also a car guy…–Cars-N-Guitars!- I have a 1967 Ford Fairlane big block Four speed, and a 1972 Corvette smallblock automatic. I work on them myself. I started out as a mechanic when I was a teen and have kept my skills relatively current. I’ve owned them for many years. I just like having them. 2011SG Standard.JPG

I am here because I own a 2011 SG Standard in Pelham Blue, SN 123110583. I didn’t set out to get this guitar. It’s one of those “It found me” stories. But the price seemed to be in the zone for used SGs of all common types, so I bought it. I also own a Les Paul Standard and a Les Paul Studio in Ebony. My normal player guitar is an Ovation. I look at guitars as art as well as things that make noise. All of these guitars have eye appeal, which I really enjoy. This SG is in excellent condition. Not a scratch, chip, dent, crack, or nick anywhere. I had a lot of trouble finding out what it was and what its value might be and still don’t know with certainty on any of that. But I do like it. It plays real nice and feels good in my hands and makes the hard notes come easy. A keeper for sure and I understand why there is a forum for this guitar.