Pearly Gates

Discussion in 'Epiphone SG' started by Roca, Apr 27, 2018.

1. Roca

Roca Active Member

I have a 2016 66 reissue and I am thinking about some pearly gates for both pickup replacement. Let me know what you guys think. Post some videos and audio too. I will be running it through a ID core 10.

living room rocker likes this.
  2. plankton

plankton Well-Known Member

I can't help with the Pearly Gates as I have no personal experience, although I'm generally not a fan of alnico 2 pickups in an SG. What are you looking to improve on sound wise?

If you make the switch you can send me your stock pickups and I'll give them a good home.

Roca likes this.
  3. Roca

Roca Active Member

I seen Billy Gibbs had a sg so I was just curious.

4. UTGrad

UTGrad New Member

I highly recommend the Whole Lotta Humbuckers for the SG. The Alnico V magnets are a great match for the solid mahogany SG body and rosewood finger board. I have a set in my 1966 Epi SG.

5. gtone

gtone Well-Known Member

Pearly Gates is one of the best in the SD lineup IMHO - nice for classic rock, roots rock, R&B, reggae, blues, etc. PU's with Alnico II mags tend to have a bit softer top and bottom end response and a little less output than those with Alnico V mags, smoother and sweeter with all other things being equal. They're equally good in bridge and neck positions of guitars made from mahogany, korina and similar tonewoods.

Try 'em, you might just dig 'em too!

Roca, living room rocker and UTGrad like this.
  6. living room rocker

living room rocker Member