Replacement bridge advice

Discussion in 'Gibson SG' started by pulse., Jan 21, 2015.

1. pulse.

pulse. New Member

Hi there,
    I want to replace the stock bridge of my VOS SG with maesto,
    with a newer one that the saddles would be cut as they should be,
    and it won't buzz. I have never tried one with nylon saddles.
    Would that be a good idea?

2. Biddlin

Biddlin Well-Known Member

Why would a new bridge be less likely to buzz than the one that is on there now? How are the saddles improperly cut? Have you located the specific cause/source of the buzz?
    ;>)/

3. pulse.

pulse. New Member

I'm new to ABR bridge, I was hoping that there's something like
    the mastery bridge for ABR bridges. The saddles were not cut in the middle
    on all the saddles and the string spacing isn't as it should be.

4. Kris Ford

Kris Ford Well-Known Member

A lot of the factory saddle screws are bent or loose, definitely recommend a new set of saddles and saddle screws for starters.
    It is very possible the saddles are too deep and don't follow the proper radius and are buzzing against the fretboard.
    I'd start with the new saddles and saddle screws

5. Biddlin

Without photos and more detailed information, I don't think we can make any real diagnosis, Kris.
    ;>)/

Kris Ford likes this.
  6. Paul G.

Paul G. Well-Known Member

Recheck your string spacing. Gibson bridge notches are hand cut on the guitar and rarely have the notches dead center of the saddle. If the spacing looks/feels even, it is.

P.

Biddlin likes this.
  7. Col Mustard

Col Mustard Well-Known Member

before you spend anything replacing VOS parts that you paid extra to get,
    I would suggest you have your guitar set up by a pro luthier. If your guitar strings
    are buzzing on the frets, the luthier may be able to identify why.

Suspecting the bridge may be the wrong approach. There is a delicate balance between