String gauge, D tuning and intonation questions.

Discussion in 'Epiphone SG' started by FoldedWilderness, Dec 5, 2018.

1. FoldedWilderness

FoldedWilderness New Member

Hello my fellow SG players.

I have a 2017 Epiphone SG 400 pro (left-handed, not that it makes a difference here but, I like to brag.)

I am a lowly beginner but, I still decided to buy and install a set of 11-49 strings to play in D-standard tuning because, reasons.

My questions:
    1: Is it normal that I have trouble reaching good intonation on several strings, maybe given the thicker strings and tuning?
    For example; on the F string (typically G) the saddle is all the way back and I still come very sharp.

2: My plan is to put a capo on the second fret when I want to play in E-standard, is this something that could cause problems if I play almost 50 percent of the time with the capo on?

2. donepearce

donepearce Well-Known Member

London, helping a friend design a knitting machine
    Sounds like the bridge has been fitted in the wrong position - it happens. If it won't intonate, that would be a warrantee claim for a replacement. If warrantee is not an option there are bridge studs that are offset, and will move the whole thing back. Or you can look for a bridge that has more travel available on the saddles.

3. DaveInSoCal

DaveInSoCal Member

In my experience, changing to a different string gauge will require a full setup. I know this because I switched all of my guitars to 009's from 010's and had to set them up to work with the new strings.
    This includes the neck relief, action and intonation.
    As far as the saddles go, I have experienced that issue on every Epi I own (4).
    What I did was flip the G saddle around so the flat part is facing the back of the bridge. That will give you a little bit more room.
    On one of my G-400's I had to replace the bridge because I couldn't get the G to intonate even with turning the saddle around.