Tell me what I need guys

Discussion in 'Epiphone SG' started by living room rocker, May 17, 2018 at 3:33 AM.

1. living room rocker

living room rocker New Member

I own a single well setup guitar (an Epi SG of course) and an inexpensive Fender amp (Fender Champion 20). I'm fairly new to this game and want to maximize my practice w/o breaking the bank or driving my wife nuts. I'm intrigued by the myriad of special effects devices, but not gonna go bonkers investing (I've not developed my talent enough yet). My practice routine is simply playing along to YouTube videos coming from my television and its own speaker.

Can this be achieved for $500 or thereabouts?

1. An effects gizmo of some kind.
    2. Something that allows me to not bother others via the use of headphones.
    3. Some means to incorporate backing tracks, music videos, etc into the system for me to play along with (I don't own nor want a smartphone). I do have a PC, but really don't even want to incorporate that.

How does a street musician setup? They have a guitar, an amp, and something to add background accompaniment I presume. That's basically what I'm after I guess; all with a headphone jack for quiet mode.

Last edited: May 18, 2018 at 5:39 PM
  2. plankton

plankton Well-Known Member

Get a Yamaha THR, it will do everything you mentioned and sound really good doing it.

Your third request is tricky, however, without connecting to a computer. Any special reason you don't want to use one?

I don't know where you live, but you should easily be able to get a THR and a good set of headphones for under $500.

living room rocker likes this.
  3. living room rocker

Main reason for not wanting to use the PC is it's not located in the room where I practice and I'd have to drag it back and forth. I'll look into this Yamaha THR though; thank you.

4. living room rocker