Time to Buy?

Discussion in 'Epiphone SG' started by Trygve, May 20, 2018.

1. Trygve

Trygve New Member

Hey, I'm new here but I've wanted an SG ever since I started playing 12 years ago. I love everything from Tony to Derek, but I've never been able to afford a Gibson. With Gibson in chapter 11 right now and their build quality at a low, maybe not all-time low, but indisputably a low, I have been looking to Epiphone. The new models from Sweetwater have binding now, and that was a turn-off before, I know it shouldn't be a deal-breaker but the cosmetics matter when I'm paying that much. The new bound SG Pros have a body shape truer to the original Gibson (I believe, I could be wrong) and still have that confounded veneer on the front and back, where older 1990s G400s don't, as well as having similar grain and species to the Gibson, but all I've heard about Epiphone of late is good. What say you, how comparable to better-day Gibsons are the new and pre-2000s Epis, and do you think now is a good time to buy?

2. SG standard

SG standard Well-Known Member

Welcome to the forum... But where do you get that idea from? From my own experience in recent years I might agree their QC is not as consistent as it should be, but the build quality low? Sorry, I'm not seeing that at all - one of my 2016 SGs in particular is outstandingly well made and seemingly from very high quality materials.

I'm not going to comment on the Epi v. Gibson question; I've no experience of Epi so it would be unfair to say much. But I'm pretty sure the price differential is only partly down to USA manufacturing costs. Gibson would be crazy to have a rival range of equal quality but substantially lower cost. But just what, and how much 'extra' you get for your money when buying a Gibson - well, I'll leave that for others to argue over. :)

But expect a different story with some other brands, where you may equal or even surpass what Gibson produce at a lower cost. (But it won't look like an SG!)