Totally Clueless - Record & Edit Guitar & Backing Tracks via Computer

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by Tom Sullivan, May 9, 2016.

  1. Tom Sullivan

    Tom Sullivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Near Atlanta
    I have no idea what's out there - could I get started for ~$150 or less?

    I would like to record & edit my guitar playing along with backing tracks using my computer but I don't know how to do this

    My searches on YouTube and other places leaves me with more questions than answers

    Thank you
     
  2. donepearce

    donepearce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    3,998
    Likes Received:
    3,520
    Location:
    London, helping a friend design a knitting machine
    You need some recording and editing software. I recommend Reaper - it is free, and records multitrack. And you need some way of getting the audio into the computer, Spend $100 on a microphone. Your computer should have an audio interface you can plug into.
     
  3. jtcnj

    jtcnj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    1,338
    Likes Received:
    891
    Location:
    Out on the Tiles, in New Jersey
    This is me as well. I tried guitar into Garageband for Iphone with a Griffin cable but the signal is uselessly low. Not impressed with the phone version of Garageband either, so I dont think I want to spend for a better / amplified input method.
    That might be a good way though if I can get more comfortable with it.
     
  4. DrBGood

    DrBGood Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    7,029
    Likes Received:
    6,571
    Location:
    Sutton Québec
    I've been playing around the concept and a good audio interface is the first thing to get. I got the Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 and it records and plays with great sound. I use Audacity, not the fanciest out there, but it will get you to start recording with no fuss. If you eventually want more, you will have learned the basics on an easy software and will be better equipped to choose the next one.

    Used Scarlett2i2 for less than $100. Got mine for $70 shipped
    http://www.guitarcenter.com/search?Ns=r&Ntt=used+Focusrite+Scarlett+2i2

    https://reverb.com/marketplace?query=Focusrite+Scarlett+2i2&sort=price|asc
     
  5. jtcnj

    jtcnj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    1,338
    Likes Received:
    891
    Location:
    Out on the Tiles, in New Jersey
    option A: buy microphone that plugs into pc, into recording software.
    option B: buy Focusrite or similar, into recording software.
    Do you plug guitar into Focusrite, or plug in a mic and mic the amp?

    If you mic the amp, why is the interface needed over plugging the mic into the pc?
    I guess the mic types are different too then, as far as the plug type, or is it USB?

    Or the benefit / limitation of each minimalist set up?
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2016
    Gibsg likes this.
  6. Tom Sullivan

    Tom Sullivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Near Atlanta
    Thanks for the suggestions

    I'd really prefer to record directly to the computer - without a microphone

    And, right now, I only need to mix & edit two sources:
    • Guitar
    • Backing track
     
  7. DrBGood

    DrBGood Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    7,029
    Likes Received:
    6,571
    Location:
    Sutton Québec
    Amp line out to Focusrite to PC.
    Tried the same without the interface and the sound coming out was crap distorted caca. The Focusrite is also my default sound card now.
     
  8. Dave_Death

    Dave_Death Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    2,126
    Likes Received:
    1,356
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    I use Garageband with Peavey X-Port interface. It has a USB cable

    I don't know where you are based but if you are in Australia Allans Billy Hyde online has X-Ports for AU$59 delivered at the moment due to them ending their Peavey dealership soon. They are normally over $100

    http://www.allansbillyhyde.com.au/prod/PV3011210/Peavey_X-Port™_USB_Guitar_Interface.aspx

    Be aware that the included Peavey software does not work with more recent Mac OS. Maybe nothing after 10.7 ... so you might just be getting the interface. You can get a discount on the new software though by using the serial number on the old disc
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2016
  9. Tom Sullivan

    Tom Sullivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Near Atlanta
    I like this one - inexpensive and seems like a good one to start with . . .

    [​IMG]
     
    Jimmy Jacks likes this.
  10. Bettyboo

    Bettyboo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015
    Messages:
    4,185
    Likes Received:
    2,599
    Location:
    London
    Another simpleton here...

    A stupid question no doubt, but I've never considered recording until now: if my amp has an XLR output (which it does), can I put that straight into the PC and then just use Audacity?
     
  11. DrBGood

    DrBGood Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    7,029
    Likes Received:
    6,571
    Location:
    Sutton Québec
    Exactemente, that's the ticket.


    You probably can yes, but wait for someone else to confirm.
     
    Gibsg and Bettyboo like this.
  12. jtcnj

    jtcnj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    1,338
    Likes Received:
    891
    Location:
    Out on the Tiles, in New Jersey
    Dont mean to hijack you Tom, just jumping in the pool.

    For those of us with primitive 1950's Fender style amps - the only "out" is the speaker.
    How would I proceed?

    I would mabye give another Garagband interface a shot, but I am running it on an iphone, a 5s I think.

    But, I think if its upwards of over $50, I would more likely go the Focusrite into Audacity on my laptop.
     
  13. DrBGood

    DrBGood Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    7,029
    Likes Received:
    6,571
    Location:
    Sutton Québec
    A speaker output has lots of power going to feed the speaker. That would fry your phone in a micro second.
    [​IMG]
    With an old amp, you need to mike it.
     
  14. jtcnj

    jtcnj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    1,338
    Likes Received:
    891
    Location:
    Out on the Tiles, in New Jersey
    I may buy that $20 NUX as-4 amp modeler just for kicks.
    BUT - can I also run the out on that into the Focusrite?
     
  15. DrBGood

    DrBGood Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    7,029
    Likes Received:
    6,571
    Location:
    Sutton Québec
    Yep, no harm trying.
     
  16. Tom Sullivan

    Tom Sullivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Near Atlanta
    I ended up going with this one . . . a little bit higher priced than the 2i2 but I like the extra features

    LINK
    Woo hoo!
    :)​



     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice