Trimming the fat?

Discussion in 'General Music' started by Tobacco Worm, Oct 2, 2014.

1. Tobacco Worm

Tobacco Worm Well-Known Member

With the recent posts like the one on five guitars and discussing the need/desire for a certain number of instruments to fill every need, I sat down and studied what I'm doing. For almost two months now I've played nothing but my Strat through a Fender SS amp with no effects. Just the amp's reverb and OD alone with no effects or processor at all. And I'm quite satisfied with how this basic rig sounds too. It reminds me of when I started playing long ago back in the early '60's with a simple rig and was thrilled with just that. There's six other guitars sitting in cases or gig bags that are not played. Of the three remaining amps, I'm only using one. The other two rest beneath their covers only to be switched on weekly to keep the ele. caps healthy and the pots from becoming scratchy. But I play only one guitar and amp now. I've also got 8 pedals that sit in their boxes doing nothing too. This has become a pattern with me.

Remember, my last remaining years spent in the police department was that of a crime analyst. I constantly studied trends and patterns of criminal activity and applied that to isolate when, where, and who was going to commit a crime and I got pretty good at it. With enough data and study I was able to get it right nearly every time I applied myself to it. And now with my musical interest becoming more and more stylized unto my own sort of individual form I find that I no longer play hardly anything other than what I've mentioned above. The trend and pattern I'm seeing is that I have evolved away from using different gear and have gravitated toward the very basic.

Thus I have a few questions for our members. And you can be as honest as you wish too as I'm a big boy and really can accept criticism without acting like an idiot. Say what's on your mind, OK?