Tuning to match a song

Discussion in 'Epiphone SG' started by living room rocker, May 16, 2018.

1. living room rocker

living room rocker New Member

Just enjoyed a great thread about string gauge preference and why guitarists tune downward; special thanks to Bonzo21's input. Now, a specific example here; I'm fairly new to guitar and lovin' it. I play an Epi SG w/newly installed SD Pearly Gates. There was this one hit wonder 80's band called Autograph with a hit song called "Turn Up the Radio". I like to play along w/songs and figure out their key signature; this one has me stumped because nothing seems to fit exactly. An experienced guitarist friend who plays professionally tells me this song was a bit unusual; the key signature being "somewhere in between". Why would a song be composed "somewhere in between"?

Bonzo21 likes this.
  2. Saint Toad

Saint Toad Member

Actually met the guitarist, (Steve Lynch...?), and sat through one of his two-hand tapping workshops waaaay back when........
    Regarding rockers "composing" for guitar...hmmm, in my experience....they don't.
    Not trying to disparage your everyday rock and roll guitarist, (I am one of "them" !), it's just people, (especially riff based rockers), tune to the singer's voice, a drum, string tension, the humidity that day, etc...
    The guitar's idiosyncrasies make this easy because of the music produced....lots of 5th chords, 4th and 5th chord movements, and little patterns that are just moved around into other "keys".
    To me, it's just easier to tune to the recording, and then play along.
    Trying to find the "key" of a guitar riff-based rock'n'roll tune is just wizzing up a rope.
    A=440 just isn't something most amped up guitarists tune to religiously.

* Classical folk and neo-classical metal speed-freaks might be the exceptions.

-st

living room rocker likes this.
  3. plankton

plankton Well-Known Member

One hit? What about the amazing follow up single "Blondes in Black Cars" :rofl: