***URGENT...Computer help needed.....PLEASE!***

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by SGPlayer, Dec 28, 2008.

  1. SGPlayer

    SGPlayer Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Just around the corner!
    I have opened a file PDF in Adobe Reader. I need to insert some data into this form.
    I've tried saving it, but I still can't type in the data that I need to.

    Anyone know how I can do this???


    Thanks!
     
  2. Alex

    Alex Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,967
    Likes Received:
    66
    I think the problem is that you are using Adobe Reader. That is mostly all if does, Read. A lot of PDF forms will let you enter the data and print a copy of it but you can not save it with the data since Adobe Reader can modify the document. You would need Adobe Acrobat for that.
     
  3. vic108

    vic108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,843
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Mudwogweap, VA
    Tom is right.

    I had gotten some State of Virginia ABC forms that I had to modify
    and had a tough time until I realized what I was doing wrong.....AA is the way to go.
     
  4. Cjays

    Cjays Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    SGPlayer, you should contact the people who created the form and let them know there's something wrong.

    Reader is designed to fill out forms and print, but not save. If there's a problem with the form in Reader, then there's a problem with the form and who created it. They can't expect people to get Acrobat just to fill out forms.
     
  5. 1Way

    1Way Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,310
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    negotiable
    Perhaps they want it filled out by hand.
     
  6. sgtbeefheart

    sgtbeefheart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    4,104
    Likes Received:
    1,137
    Location:
    UK
  7. vkgphil

    vkgphil Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    in my own little world... apparently
    reader by itself cannot fill in forms. users who have acrobat installed apparently adds this functionality to reader if its version 8 or later. if you have acrobat thou i dont see why it adds this to reader... anyway try this

    http://www.nitropdf.com/free/hammer/index.htm

    you have to upload the pdf file to the site but you can then do your edit/fill in there and its FREE
     
  8. vkgphil

    vkgphil Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    in my own little world... apparently
    im not 100 per cent on this but i think open office has a pdf application in it and that should be free as well... thou you prob have to register etc for it...
     
  9. SGPlayer

    SGPlayer Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Just around the corner!
    Thanks for the help guys. I finally had to give up and just print the d&mn form and fill it out by hand!

    I really appreciate the help and suggestions!
     
  10. Cjays

    Cjays Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    [quote author=vkgphil link=topic=18414.msg225746#msg225746 date=1230691260]
    reader by itself cannot fill in forms.[/quote]
    Yes it can. That's what it's designed for. I'm telling ya, there's something wrong with the form, or the OP isn't using the latest version of Reader, which is 9.

    http://help.adobe.com/en_US/Reader/9.0/index.html
     
  11. vkgphil

    vkgphil Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    in my own little world... apparently
    i be danged. but the 'author' who built the form has to 'enable local save capability'

    i think im still rattling around with version 7... time to upgrade i suppose. i have acrobat v6 at work that i use all the time for saving docs as pdfs.
     
  12. SGPlayer

    SGPlayer Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Just around the corner!
    I'm with Phil......I swear I've downloaded and used these forms before, but this one just would NOT work!
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice