Using a Looper Pedal for Recording

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by Worblehat, Jul 1, 2018.

1. Worblehat

Worblehat Active Member

I have been thinking about getting a looper pedal for practice purposes for a while now. I liked the EHX 360 Nano Looper for its simplicity. But then another use for a looper pedal came to my mind: Recording.

Let me explain...
    I am a beginner and from time to time I like to record songs I've been learning. It's quite a motivation for me and also a good way to be self-critical and find things to improve. My setup for recording looks like this:
    Amp -> Focusrite Audio Interface -> Notebook. In addition I need to connect a monitor or headphones to the interface to hear what I play and of course setup the DAW on my Notebook.

As I don't have enough space to keep this configuration on my desk all the time I need to set it up everyt ime. This and the resulting cable spaghetti is annoying and holds me back from recording more often or spontaneously during a practice session.

So my idea is:
    Why not buy a looper pedal with multiple recording slots, lots of memory, an USB connector (I have the Boss RC-3 in mind). I could keep it in my signal chain all the time and activate it any time I want to record something without any additional setup.
    Then I could connect the amp to the audio interface and notebook later, replay the loop and record it in the DAW. I also can tweak the amp settings at this point (as the looper is in front of the amp) and don't have to think about it too much when playing.

Recording often or even always when practicing might also help with the "red light syndrome" I suffer from.

What do you think of it? Is a looper like the Boss RC-3 the right tool for this?
    Are there any other pedal like devices that are intended to be used as on-the-fly recording tools?

2. donepearce

donepearce Well-Known Member

London, helping a friend design a knitting machine