wiring harness

Discussion in 'Vintage SG' started by RobertD, May 10, 2020.

Tags:
  1. RobertD

RobertD New Member

Hello. I am looking for a complete wiring harness for a 61 sg.
    Can't afford a real one. What is a good repro.
    Thanks
    Robert

2. RW59

RW59 New Member

I have no personal experience with pre-wired harnesses.

But there are some forums that are more vintage-focused than this one, and RS Guitarworks harnesses get a lot of love.

3. donepearce

donepearce Well-Known Member

Wiring harnesses are a waste of money. There is almost no wiring in a guitar. The connections from the pickup can't be included for obvious reasons. The only things you can have are a pair of capacitors and the connection to the jack. Don't waste your money.

Biddlin likes this.
  4. RW59

RW59 New Member

People have different abilities.

There are posts on all the forums from people who wired their guitar according to a simple standard scheme and can't get it to work.

The first time I wired up a guitar it was pretty messy. After cutting a couple of wires a little too short, I resorted to cutting them extra long. Burned some insulation, had some blobby joints.

There are people who have never owned a dyke or a wire stripper or a soldering iron, and would never use them ever again after wiring up their guitar.

The assembly fee is actually pretty cheap. Less than most techs charge for completely wiring a guitar. Techs charge less for just connecting the pickups. (Most of the cost is the "premium" pots & caps -- that's a separate debate.)
    --------------------
    I pay to get my engine oil replaced. A simple job I could do (and have done) myself. Total waste of money.

5. donepearce

Anyone capable of fitting a wiring harness into a guitar and connecting the pickups has more than enough ability to do the job without a harness. Any tech weho takes on a wiring job and buys a harness to achieve it needs to find more suitable work.

6. RW59

RW59 New Member