You veteran players and your tone terminology

Discussion in 'Amps & Cabs' started by living room rocker, Jul 6, 2018.

1. living room rocker

living room rocker Member

I'm a relative novice player of 2 years now. I've been trying to get a better understanding of you veteran players' terminology when describing tone. My amp (Fender Champion 20) offers some limited effects which I can clearly hear and describe. The terms "tight, headroom, saturated tubes, overdriven, bite, crunch, scooped mids, high gain, etc" leave me puzzled by what you mean though; just not enough experience yet I guess. These terms are not effects, but instead amp or pickup tone characteristics.....correct? This amp offers 12 "voicings" I toy with and have zero'ed in on Blackface and British settings as my favorites. I turn the effects completely off and just listen to the tonal differences. Do you guys get classic rock tones with cleaner amp settings........or is that an oxymoron? I've read that guitarists like Angus Young actually play with cleaner settings, plus lots of volume obviously..........is this true?

2. Biddlin

Biddlin Well-Known Member

Tight-technically perfect, pitch tone and rhythm.
    headroom-how much power your amp can provide before the sound starts to break up and distort.
    saturated tubes-That is a crude description of cranking the volume knb on your amp to 11 so that the signal from the guitar drives the pre-amp and power amp tubes beyond their nominal voltage capacity causing distortion. It is LOUD.
    Overdriven-see above. An amp may be pushed beyond its normal capacity by use of its native volume and master volume or by an inline device (pedal) that boosts the signal beyond the clean capacity of the amplifier.
    Bite-amount of treble in the signal, extreme is called ice pick.
    crunch- low and mid frequency mild distortion-think (Free's Alright Now) rhythm tone