Your First Gibby.

Discussion in 'The Backstage' started by Logan, Mar 7, 2018.

1. Logan

Logan Well-Known Member

So how long has everyone here been playing, and at what age did you get your first Gibson? Was it your first guitar, inherited, your parents give it to you, or did you work your rear end off to finally get it?

For me, I started playing at 10 and played for 1 and a half years on a Jackson Dinky before I got into it. When I did, my parents rewarded me with an Epi Wildkat for Christmas, and for my birthday we got it rewired by JonesyBlues. Then I worked over the summer for my parents and got my Nashville Tele. For the upcoming christmas we gutted it and made it my own.

After all of that I decided that I wanted my next guitar to be the real-deal, full blown U.S.A. made Gibson Les Paul. So I did research, and decided I wanted a Les Paul Recording. That went out the window when the 2013 that my music store had was sold. Then I wanted a 2015 Classic in Seafoam Green. Then that sold. And finally, after working for my parents for a while and making some money, I was going to wait for a good Les Paul.

Then in 2016 my Dad made me take some time to sit down with the 2015 SG Standard that they had there. I wasn't interested at first, because she was a burst and didn't stand out from the crowd to me. Eventually, though, he got me to sit down with her and I strummed a G Chord. I decided I was going to get her and then put her in layaway. I worked for my parents over the summer, and I wouldn't be where I am today without them. They are the coolest and most supportive people of my "hobby" which I hope to turn into a career someday. But, my SG was my first real Gibby, and I'm proud of her :D
    [​IMG]
    Here's all of the Guitars I have now.

Gahr, Plan Zero and ratsalad like this.
  2. Plan Zero

Plan Zero Active Member