1980 SG Firebrand headstock color

drown

Reaction score
Looking at an SG Firebrand from a seller claiming it's a 1980 model. I'm not an expert but most I've seen the headstock was a natural finish. This one has a black finish. Branded logo seems rather unclean and finish on headstock has some issues. Wondering whether it's possible this is a fake? Or that previous owner painted it black? Some other issues with the guitar including not original pickups. Thoughts? Serial numbers appear to check out to a 1980 era Gibson SG. I've seen non-ebony Firebrands from 1982 with black headstock like this....

Switch is in correct location for a firebrand. But all the other I've seen had tulip shaped tuners, whereas this one has kidneys....

Headstock 1.JPG Headstock 3.JPG Headstock2.JPG

Col Mustard

Reaction score
Those are/were excellent. I want one too. They got the name Firebrand by having the headstock look like the Gibson logo had been branded in... no decal, no MOP inlay.
No beveling on the cutaways. But a lovely instrument, making me drool ever since.
SG-1979.jpg
The OP's pictures show an SG whose headstock has been broken and repaired.
...it looks like a home made job, which included painting the headstock with house paint or something.

Someone installed heavy Grover Rotomatics on this SG. The stock tuners were seventies style
Schaller gears, which very likely would balance properly. If it's headstock heavy, there are many better choices for tuners which would solve that problem.

Here's some close up action:
https://60cyclehumcast.com/2016/03/30/gibson-firebrand-sg-demo-and-review/

TDA1966

Reaction score
In typical hazy Gibson fashion,The Firebrand series history becomes murky in a way because they either started out as The SG and the SG Deluxe and switched to mahogany from the scrumptious eastern black walnut and the branded logo became either a decal or inlay . I don't have any links now, maybe one of you do.