2013 Gibson SG Standard - Legit and Opinions Wanted

Discussion in 'Gibson SG' started by jaygl, Nov 15, 2017.

1. jaygl

jaygl Member

headstock.jpg Hey all, I'm looking at black 2013 SG Standard. Does it look legit? I don't see any red flags but I'm far from an expert, so I appeal to the gurus on here. Also, what are owners of the 2013 Standards thoughts and opinions about them? Was it a good year and how do they hold up to other years? Thanks and cheers!! front.jpg
    body.jpg

Last edited: Nov 15, 2017
  2. donepearce

donepearce Well-Known Member

Sorry, but it is pretty much impossible to say from those pictures.

3. Biddlin

Biddlin Well-Known Member

Pics are too small for details. Close up of fret ends (nibs)
    nibbed.jpg
    and the bridge 1nvlbdg.jpg
    would be helpful. Generally looks OK.
    My thirteens are all great. ask me again in twenty years for meaningful results.

4. DrBGood

DrBGood Well-Known Member

Close ups of bridge area, back of headstock and control cavity would help.

5. jaygl

jaygl Member

Those are the only pics I have of it. I'm going to look at it this evening...any tell tale signs to authenticate it...nibs...pcb in control cavity...posts not screws on bridge...anything else?

6. donepearce

General fit and finish. The picture is taken from a bit of an angle, so it is hard to tell, but check that the truss rod cover is nicely centred. Check the neck joint. The red nitro should end in a tidy line, and not be spilling up onto the binding. And check the binding joints. 45 degrees and coming to a tidy point with the join in the middle of it. Work the tuners - they should feel solid with no play. Run your fingers along the fret ends - they should be smooth.

7. DrBGood

DrBGood Well-Known Member

One other thing. If the price seem too good to be true, it probably is.

8. jaygl

jaygl Member

$1000 Canadian so the price is on point.

DrBGood likes this.
  9. Jason

Jason Active Member

2013's do not have pcb in the control cavity