50s Wiring with a Coil Split

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Roo, Jan 24, 2018.

1. Roo

Roo New Member

Hi, I was wandering if any of you guys could give some advice or point me in the right direction. Im taking the PCB out of my SG standard and rewiring from scratch. Im wanting to do it 50s style, with orange drops, and a coil split for the neck pickup only (push/pull on the volume). The wiring I'm using is 4 core (normal Gibson pickup stuff).

I know there are many very similar threads to this but i have tried to figure them out and am having a hard time doing so, its my first time doing anything like this. I can't find an exact circuit diagram of what i want to do, though i have found ones demonstrating how to do 50s wiring, or how to do a push/pull coil tap, but not how to combine them. Can anybody either explain to me what i might want to do, point me in the direction of somewhere i can find out for myself, or even be a bloody legend and just draw me a circuit diagram haha

2. Roo

Roo New Member

[​IMG]
    I like this diagram a lot, it makes intuitive sense to me. However i don't know how to incorporate a coil split on the neck volume pot. Any help would be much appreciated, even if someone just MSpainted the push/pull on top!

3. Bad Penguin

Bad Penguin Well-Known Member

Ok, ignore the way the pot is wired in this diagram, and just pay attention to the push/pull switch, and the "tap" wires connected to it. Use the two wires that are taped together, and you should be fine.
    https://guitarelectronics.com/1-humbucker-1-volume-pull-for-north-single-coil/

There is another way to do a coil tap, that doesn't require adding a switch. Simply solder the tap wires to that unused lug on the tone pot. From 0-9, you will have a humbucker. When turned to 10, it will be a single coil. Simple enough to try, without needing more parts. I use that at times, to see if I like the sound of the tapped pickup.

4. Raiyn

Raiyn Well-Known Member