A couple of mods to my SG-61 - Sacrilege?

Discussion in 'Gibson SG' started by Mike McLenison, May 30, 2010.

1. Mike McLenison

Mike McLenison Member

My SG-61 was bought new in 2003... -I found that adding Alumitone pups and the Stetsbar was a grand transformation for tone and creativity. The Alumitones beat the 57's and every boutique pup I've owned with a wider frequency response without sacrificing the warmth and power. The Stetsbar has a sense of mechanical "rightness" without the typical vibrato quirks (I was a machinist for many years). It does the subtle-Bigsby and extreme-whammy exceeding well while holding intonation. No body drilling or chopping needed. The additional Stetsbar weight offsets the typical SG neck-heaviness. Pickup surrounds are custom-machined ebony.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Voxman

Voxman Moderator Staff Member

Very nicely done Mike! O0

3. dbb

dbb Well-Known Member

Thanks for the post - I've been curious about BOTH items, the Stetsbar and the alumitones.
    A bit odd looking but it sure sounds like a cool combination and a very cool mod.

4. Mike McLenison

Mike McLenison Member

Yeah, it was hard for me to break the traditional "look" of this legendary model, but I wanted pups that would give me more sparkle when needed and the Stetsbar expands my arsenal of creative choices. I don't dive bomb, but just use it as a sweetener. The Alumitones weigh 1/2 lb lighter than a typical pair of humbuckers, so more body weight is welcome. I'm thinking about making a control cavity cover out of 1/16" stainless for my next mod.

5. ESSER

ESSER Active Member

Cool Mike.

Just had a search about the Alumitones. Are they really as good as it says in this vid?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZI8sMJVjHrY

Has the humbucker been toppled from its throne after all these years???