Adding a maestro trem, grounding question...

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by backporchmusic, Jul 4, 2020.

  1. backporchmusic

    backporchmusic New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    24
    I am adding a maestro trem to my 2018 SG Special, because....well, because they are my favorite trem and I would put them on all my guitars if possible.

    Anyway. In my first shot at it, I pulled off the stop tail and laid down the trem. Since the ground wire goes to the treble side of the now empty stoptail bushing, I get a ground issue where it is very noisy (esp. when touched or if the trem moves on it) making my P90 equipped guitar really noisy.

    Do I need to re-route the ground wire somewhere? Does it normally depend on the stop tail being there to carrying the signal to the other bass side bushing to achieve proper ground?

    Is electrical tape over the treble bushing all I need?

    I can't be the only one to slap a maestro on my SG...

    Wiring gurus...help!
     
  2. cerebral gasket

    cerebral gasket Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Messages:
    3,099
    Likes Received:
    3,967
  3. tolm

    tolm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    270
    Short answer - Yes, the ground connection on the treble STP stud needs to get to the strings so that your body (which is a giant RF antenna!) is grounded when you touch the strings.

    One hacky suggestion - which I’ve used successfully when fitting a Bigsby B7 (no VibraMate - just screwed straight in) is to pop a decent length pickup mounting spring in the treble STP stud hole where the ground wire is already connected. This should push up against the underside of the Trem unit and make the ground connection.

    Now, that worked great on the Bigsby because it was screwed down over the top of the STP stud holes. Not 100% sure if it will work as well with a Maestro but could be worth a try?

    Of course, the video linked above is the correct way to do it!
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2020
    backporchmusic likes this.
  4. backporchmusic

    backporchmusic New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    24
    Yup, that's it! Many thanks.

    Could I also shoot the wire to the bridge bushing??? Just checking...
     
    cerebral gasket likes this.
  5. Von Trapp

    Von Trapp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    396
    Location:
    Sweden
    I can't remember but I believe I wired mine to the bridge instead.

    Edit: Yes I did.
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2020
    backporchmusic likes this.
  6. Chubbles

    Chubbles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    394
    I had difficulty soldering the ground wire to the bridge on an Epi SG. I used conductive copper tape instead. It worked great.

    Just in case you experience that issue...
     
    backporchmusic likes this.
  7. Biddlin

    Biddlin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    11,732
    Likes Received:
    9,861
    Location:
    -
    sgclsm.jpg
    On my already relic'd Classic, I wired mine to the frame of the Maestro, between the frame and mounting screw.
    g400puvert.jpg
    Epi g400/SGs are grounded at the bridge, so no need to move wires.
     
  8. backporchmusic

    backporchmusic New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    24
    So much good info--thanks!
     
  9. Von Trapp

    Von Trapp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    396
    Location:
    Sweden
    If you run it to the bridge you don't need to solder it, just remove the bushing, drill a hole in there, strip the wire and stick it in there and up the side of the hole and ram the bushing back. It'll be so tight that the wire is secured.
     
    backporchmusic likes this.
  10. backporchmusic

    backporchmusic New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    24
    Final question--after I put in a new ground wire from the bridge or maestro tailpiece, do I have to remove or disconnect the old wire that leads to the old tailpiece bushing? Or is it OK to leave it there?
     
  11. Von Trapp

    Von Trapp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    396
    Location:
    Sweden
    If it's disconnected from the electronics than just cut it off and leave it.
     
    backporchmusic likes this.

Share This Page