An expert opinion

Discussion in 'Vintage SG' started by coxisingapore, Mar 1, 2014.

1. coxisingapore

coxisingapore New Member

Hi Guys,

I am new here and just bought this SG (my second). I was wondering if anyone could help me verify its age and type.

Serial number 172884

Picture attached.. I think...

cheers

Coxi

Attached Files:

2. eS.G.

eS.G. Well-Known Member

Wow that is a beauty!! Welcome. I am not an expert others here KNOW the vintage axes and I am sure they will be along shortly.
    In the mean time look around the site and enjoy.:)

3. Biddlin

Biddlin Well-Known Member

4. shreddy bender

shreddy bender Well-Known Member

'73 - '75 or '76 SG Special. Looks nice! What do you think of it? The mini humbuckers are a unique pickup. Kind of in between a full size humbucker and a single coil.

5. smitty_p

smitty_p Well-Known Member

I agree on the early '70s pedigree. I don't see a crown inlay on the headstock. An unbound neck, plain headstock (except for the Gibson logo), black mini-humbuckers, and small block inlays all point to an early 70s SG Special.

You can compare it to my '74 Special in the member gallery.

As a bit of clarification, many people assume a Special has dots instead of blocks in the neck. This is largely true, but some of the Specials of that era had blocks.

Anyway, love the axe!

6. Biddlin

Biddlin Well-Known Member

[​IMG] 05-06-2013, 04:46 PM #3 (permalink) sgtbeefheart

[​IMG]

Here are a '72 and a '73, but there seem to be many variations.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

7. coxisingapore

coxisingapore New Member

Thanks guys

I thought it may be 1973 from my research, but the guitar dater project said it was early 60's, but I kinda knew its was too good to be true. :-)

I bought it in a hurry as the guy was closing his shop, so to be honest, I have yet to plug it into an amp.. No issues on the whether it works, as the shop is 100% and i just love the look of it, very clean. Frets are well worn but nice sustain acoustically.