Build a Mojotone Kit or Buy a Fender???

Sp8ctre

Reaction score
So I've been looking at Mojotone amp kits and I found a Blackface Super Reverb full kit with 4 Jensen speakers for $1305. I can buy the actual Fender '65 Super Reverb at Sweetwater for $1550.

Being as I'm an electronics tech and have the skills, what are the advantages of building my own? I'm guessing by the looks of the small pictures that these kits have nice point to point wiring and the best of components.

Anyone here build one or know anything about them?

gball

Reaction score
Building it yourself would likely be a rewarding project, and you would be able to tweak component values to your liking to customize the amp if you wanted, plus servicing down the road would be very simple.

I don't personally buy into the notion that PTP sounds inherently "better" than PCB construction (and often worse) and I have played several of the Fender reissues which, having owned several of the original versions to compare to, sound amazing.

syscokid

Reaction score
Building it yourself would likely be a rewarding project, and you would be able to tweak component values to your liking to customize the amp if you wanted, plus servicing down the road would be very simple.

I don't personally buy into the notion that PTP sounds inherently "better" than PCB construction (and often worse) and I have played several of the Fender reissues which, having owned several of the original versions to compare to, sound amazing.
I couldn't agree with this anymore. Saving money is not a factor for me in this situation. If you have the skills and patience, then building is so much more fun. But ruling out pcb construction is cork-sniffery. There's good and bad designs in both cases.