Carry on My Wayward Son

Discussion in 'Lessons & Techniques' started by IndyRocker, Dec 23, 2014.

1. IndyRocker

IndyRocker Active Member

This weeks lesson has the riffs from this classic Kansas tune :applause:

Anyone else here play this song? I have some new strings on the axe and hopefully by this weekend I can get most of this song down. I haven't checked Youtube yet for a good lesson vid. Anyone know any good ones?

Also, I am trying to improve my picking because I really suck at hitting the right strings. It seems I am always running into the string above the string I am aiming for. I am still new at using a pick so any suggestions for lessons geared at improving this area would be great.

Thanks!

2. frankd

frankd Well-Known Member

Hey Indy
    This one has alot to take In. alot Of pull offs and hamer ons
    so im thinking that was probably what your instructor thought would get
    you a lot of kinda walk and jump around too.
    this guy does a pretty good job. BUT beware these are all like 3 part lessons a lot too take in Im on vacation. so I will go over this again
    myself and help ya if I can.
    [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GkBOhbpc1Aw"]www.youtube.com/watch?v=GkBOhbpc1Aw[/ame]

3. IndyRocker

IndyRocker Active Member

Thanks Frank. Thats what I was thinking too. He is trying to get me moving around the neck. He only gave me up to the chorus to learn because this song has so much in it. I will see if I can get a recording this weekend of some progress. I am still working on the last 3 songs he gave me as well. I think next week I am going to ask him to show me some good practice routines to improve accuracy and hold up on learning any more songs.

4. frankd

frankd Well-Known Member

I practice and learn every chance I get this is a Great classic song.
    Kerry Livgren Is one of the first Guys Dean Zelinsky built a guitar for.And he often played a Soltero . I love mine.