changing pots on EpiSG

Discussion in 'Epiphone SG' started by laza616, Jul 11, 2020.

1. laza616

laza616 New Member

Hello fellas,

I am a complete novice on the forum but i wanted to ask :
    Can i swap/replace the pots on my 2002 Korean Epiphone SG with the pots from Epiphone SG elitist?
    They should be better in the elitist right? And my tone Bridge pot stopped responding
    I dont know what is wrong as i am not electrician and i dont really dont know much about guitar electronics

What do you guys think?
    Thanks for the help

2. donepearce

donepearce Well-Known Member

The pots are most likely no different in the two guitars. Pots can be bought from most guitar supply shops, but make sure you get them for an Epiphone. Gibson use a different size. But if you know nothing about this, I would recommend you take it to a tech to get it fixed.

3. laza616

laza616 New Member

Yeah they are from Epiphone SG elitist, they would go to my Epiphone G400
    I thought Elitist models had better electronics, so the pots too
    The problem is that i need to order it from the internet so i cant really adjust and compare the size
    I really dont want to drill more space in my guitar and i changing one pot is OK but i fear the other old pots are going to die as Well and IT will be more money consuming getting them changed one by one

Is the size of the pots from the G400 and Elitist the same? Are they the same pots?

4. donepearce

I believe they are the same pots - but have a look. It's just a few screws. Online suppliers will list pots under guitar type to make sure you get the right ones.

5. laza616

laza616 New Member

They are second hand damn it
    I should take the guitar to the luthier and let him decide what to do

donepearce likes this.
  6. Grizzlyman

Grizzlyman Active Member

If you’re going to be changing pots, you need to be able to solder...