Chasing Thom Yorke's 64 SG tone

Discussion in 'Pickups' started by TheWayfarer, Dec 20, 2016.

1. TheWayfarer

TheWayfarer Member

Title says it all...after a neck tone that matches the video at 25:44. I believe the 64 should have Pat # pickups in it, which would be alnico V and Poly wire, right? Which initially led me to the Bare Knuckle Riff Raffs...but I'm hesitant as most guys only rave about them for Angus tone (I'm not after Angus tone), and also mention they are sort of hard and edgy. I'm still very new to SG's and couldn't tell you if mine is a bright or dark one. It's a 2013 Standard. They 57's aren't bad, but are sort of flat sounding too. I crave detail 3D swirl and complexity!

I'm after more a really pleasing clean tone and then dirty roots rock/blues tone. Heavily leaning towards Bare Knuckle Mondays or Mules. I run through a Fuzz Face (rolled off volume for just breakup) > Klon clone >Tubescreamer > Blackfaced '72 Vibrolux with Jensen style speakers.

Satellitedog likes this.
  2. Huckleberry

Huckleberry Member

I have an SG with Mules and you won't get that tone with them. They very much want to play Allman Brothers, Cream, and junk like that. What you want, I think anyway, is a pair of Manlius's T-top pickups which is what you want to get a 64 tone anyway. They're alnico 5 short magnet and sound great. Super detailed clarity with fuzz, overdrive or clean. I love both sets but I wouldn't recommend the mules for what you want.

3. DCCable

DCCable Active Member

First of all like chasing the sound of a lot of big name acts there's a lot that goes into the sound other than just the guitar or the pickups. What I'm hearing there is that the tone control on the guitar or the amp or both is rolled way back. It would be helpful to know what the full signal chain is in order to fully understand what's going on.