Epiphone EB-3

grausch

Reaction score
Hi there,

This weekend I went to my local guitar store to have one of my guitars set up and noticed a new Epiphone EB-3 for sale for €200. Spoke to the salesperson and he said it is being discounted to clear old stock. I am a rhythm guitarist and have never really played bass, although lately I think it could be nice instrument to learn. I tend to gravitate towards bass lines when I listen to music and since the bass guitar fulfils a different role, I reckon it could add some flavour to my guitar playing as well.

Since my experience with bass guitars is non-existent, what should I watch out for when properly inspecting this bass?

Raiyn

Reaction score
Hi there,

This weekend I went to my local guitar store to have one of my guitars set up and noticed a new Epiphone EB-3 for sale for €200. Spoke to the salesperson and he said it is being discounted to clear old stock. I am a rhythm guitarist and have never really played bass, although lately I think it could be nice instrument to learn. I tend to gravitate towards bass lines when I listen to music and since the bass guitar fulfils a different role, I reckon it could add some flavour to my guitar playing as well.

Since my experience with bass guitars is non-existent, what should I watch out for when properly inspecting this bass?
I'm gonna draw the attention of @eS.G. and @Dave Johnson over here for you as they'd know far better than I would.

Dave Johnson

Reaction score
Hi there,

The same thing you would look for in an electric guitar.
Fit & finish, cracks at headstock & where neck meets the body, playability & action, plug it in and see how it sounds, see how it feels, check all controls.
Do your homework pricewise, and good luck to you and your venture into the deep end.

DrBGood

Reaction score
I'd say the same as you would with a 6 string electric.

Headstock integrity, no crack from the nut at base of fretboard.
Straightness of the neck, to twist.
Tone ...