good price on a Standard?

Discussion in 'Gibson SG' started by anthoney, Apr 14, 2005.

1. anthoney

anthoney Guest

Hello everyone. This is my first time posting. However, I've been an SG fan for a long time and I've used this site more than a few times. I just recently discovered this forum and I've been addicted since :D

Anyway, I recently found a used 2004 Gibson SG Standard in heritage cherry w/ Gibson HSC. The guitar seems to be about as close to mint as a used guitar can be. Right now, the store is holding it for me but I thought I would check with the experts to see if I'm getting a good price. They want $899 US for it.

I've always dreamed of owning a Standard. I've considered just going with the Faded Special but I think I would regret it in the long run. All opinions are welcome!

Thanks

2. bscepter

bscepter Member

Boy, if it's in good shape, that sounds like a steal. I used to have a Standard -- I absolutely loved it. Go for it!

3. anthoney

anthoney Guest

Right on, that's what I was hoping to hear! Thanks!

4. jigman

jigman Member

Its a decent deal but consider this:

$899.00 + Tax is just shy of $1,000.00 clams

At guitar center (ouch) I paid $1,000.00 which included a case and warranty. For another $100.00 plus a little you could have a brand new one.

But if its in as good condition as you say it really is a great deal. You wont be sorry. I'm 46 years old and the SG STD is absolutely, beyond a shadow of a doubt the best AXE i've ever played/owned. It just allows you to express yourself in almost every way. It has made me a better player.
    The lesser guitars ive owned up until I got the SG, made me ready for the moment when I got the worlds best sounding, fastest necked and coolest looking guitar ever made.

5. Noise Punk

Noise Punk New Member

Call Dave's Guitars in Wisconsin. I recently got a brand new SG Standard from them for $980 shipped, including a new Gibson hard shell case.

www.davesguitar.com

6. Six String