Greets - new old player :P

Discussion in 'Welcome Wagon' started by Pain, Mar 26, 2007.

1. Pain

Pain New Member

This looks like a great site, I haven't even had time to do much browsing yet (dial up - yech)

Anyway, I have been playing for about 22 years (am 35 years old). I picked up my SG in California around 1990. I bought it (looks like a Standard) and the hard case for $275 from some guy who was desperate for cash and had restrung it left-handed for his wife. I had always wanted a SG for all the obvious reasons (Angus, Tommi, etc) but fell in love with it's tone and feel not to mention I finally had a "real" electric guitar!
    Now here's where I part ways with many of you guys, eek. After I stripped and repainted the axe (I marbleized it green) the volume pot went bad. I could pop it with my thumb and make it work which I did until the jack went bad. When I began looking for a new jack, my real search began...
    I soon found out I needed an "endpin" jack as mine mounts to the side of the guitar, not the face like I saw on every other darn SG pic I could find. This coupled with an odd serial number kept me from dating or identifying which model/make I had even after sending the specs to Gibson. Years later, the guitar was stepped on and broke from the neck down into the heel joint - terror.. shame.. weeping.
    I talked to an old piano repairman who gave me some superglue tips and after a finger-crossed hail-mary repair session, it glued back into exactly the same angle it had been in before the breakage without a single truss-rod turn. Yay, finally some good luck!
    It got put up for I don't know how many years before I recently decided to make it playable again. I will soon post pics, etc in the "What Year or Model SG Do I Have" forum.