Help choosing an SG on Reverb

Discussion in 'Gibson SG' started by GuitarGarrett, May 7, 2020.

1. GuitarGarrett

GuitarGarrett New Member

Hi friends,

I’m about to pull the trigger on some deals I found on Reverb, and was wondering if anyone could help me choose the best overall option for the money?

I have four choices and they're all giving me good deals.

Basically it's between:

2016 Gibson Sg Special Faded (~$660)

2004 Gibson Sg Platinum ($700)

2008 Gibson Sg Standard ($800)

2020 Epiphone Modern Figured w/ Bare Knuckle Pickups (~$600)

This is my first time buying a used guitar from Reverb so any advice or recommendations are highly appreciated!!!

2. Bonzo21

Bonzo21 Well-Known Member

I have no experience with the platinum, but it seems like the better deal money wise vs the faded. I LOVE my faded SG (it's been my #1 since I got it), but the Platinum is a ltd edition, has an ebony board, and is full gloss (looks like it anyways), same pickups as the faded. 800 for the standard seems reasonable too if you want a standard. I'm used to canadian prices so its hard for me to judge your market (and the dollar sucks right now). So they all seem priced decent to me, with the platinum seeming cheaper than it should (but again, I don't know much about this model and I haven't shopped around for a standard in a long time).

As for the 2020 epi, I'm not an epi hater AT ALL but that one comes down to what value you put on the pickups and if an epi will satisfy your craving for an SG. I've had epis that I liked as much as my Gibsons, but I went through moments of GAS where epis were not good enough (until I got enough hands on Gibsons). And I don't think there's anything wrong with that. If only a Gibson is good enough for you right now, get one of those. If you want a very decent guitar (in its own right) and you're very curious about the Bareknuckles, get that one. That's my opinion on these choices...