Help me decide my next guitar

Discussion in 'Gibson SG' started by Budius, Jul 10, 2020.

1. Budius

Budius New Member

Hi all,

I need some help on my next guitar, I hope you fine folk can give your input.

As you might have guessed I'm considering a Gibson SG. The exact model is a brand new "Gibson SG Standard '61, Vintage Cherry" from the 2020 line. It goes for about 1500 euros (I believe it is the same amount in USD).

I'm not new go guitars, I've been playing for 20+ years and I got home with me a Gibson Les Paul Custom Zack Wylde, a Gibson Explorer and Dean Custom Shop Dimebag ML War Camo. So even thou I'm absolutely not professional, it's just a very expensive hobby, I've been around.

So there's this big shop in town that I've been checking their stocks on Gibson SG for a while (while saving some money) and yesterday I took the trip there to check them out in person. Picked up the guitar, connect to a sweet Orange terror they got available and played a bit.

So my current thoughts:

The good:
    - the body is amazing light, my old tired shoulders will thank for that
    - this slim taper neck is a pleasure to play
    - the easy access to the upper scales is very nice
    - the pickups sounds is great
    - the sustain just goes on forever

The bad:
    I had this impression that the angle that the strings/bridge/body/neck are will make it that the strings will always be a bit too high. I checked the bridge-screw and seems that even if adjusted all the way down, the strings wouldn't get near end the neck, like there would always be this funny angle between the strings and the neck. I also checked the neck and it seemed to be perfectly fine in a straight line (no truss rod issues). I asked the luthier from the store and he said that it is adjusted medium and can be moved down, but I'm not convinced because, of course, he works for the store.